3 Chicks Review Comics

Nik Furious: 7 Star Sky Flash Kick

Tuesday, November 12th, 2013

13 original instrumental songs. Electronic, surf, funk, rock, and more.

Each song on 7 Star Sky Flash Kick has a special story behind it. I'll be sharing those stories with you and adding them to the tracklist below as I go. I changed my mind! Though the stories are awesome, I'd rather spend my time making new songs than writing blog posts about ones I've already made 😉

7 Star Sky Flash Kick tracklist:

01. Adamantium 2:28 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
02. Da Bounce 3:20 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
03. Destruct-O-Groove 8:51 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
04. Dora Milaje 1:42 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
05. Egg Shaker 3:01 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
06. Intra Venus 1:48 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
07. Nazo 7:09 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
08. Never 1:54 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
09. Philly Right 2:57 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
10. Smells Like Cupcakes 5:34 (mp3) (artwork)(history)
11. Sultry Storm 2:04 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
12. Synthezoid Rock 4:15 (mp3) (artwork) (history)
13. Zero 2:32 (mp3) (artwork) (history)

Download the 7 Star Sky Flash Kick ZIP file (47:30, 75 MB)

Listen to 7 Star Sky Flash Kick on SoundClound

Watch the 7 Star Sky Flash Kick album sampler video:

The songs on this album were written and recorded between 2003-2013. A few of them have been released with older mixes and different names. Many of them are theme songs to podcasts produced by myself and my friends including Comic Book Pitt, 3 Chicks Review Comics, and various shows on AudioShocker.com.

The album cover is a collaboration between myself and my incredible girlfriend, Justique Woolridge. She created a painting inspired by the title. I scanned in both the front of it and the paint-smudged back...

...and then I layered both of them on top of each other in Photoshop and altered the colors to produce the final album design.

The album is named after one of Chun-Li's moves from Marvel vs. Capcom. Here's what the 7 Star Sky Flash Kick looks like in the video game:

Finally but most importantly, a lot of people have supported me, inspired me, and helped me create these songs. Thanks to Justique, Ed Marino, Jennifer Marino-Gabrielli, Josh Kobylarz, Dan Greenwald, Kelly Thompson, Ross Campbell, Scott Niekum, Kaylie McDougal, Neal Shyam, and Shawn Atkins.

3 Chicks podcast theme... with rap!!!

Tuesday, January 4th, 2011

It's not too often you hear a non-instrumental Nik Furious song... but that's exactly what you got here!!!

When Kelly Thompson contacted me about making an original track for her new podcast, 3 Chicks Review Comics, she expected an instrumental song like my other podcast themes (for the AudioShocker and Comic Book Pitt, natch).

I suggested the idea of shouting "3 Chicks" in there and she liked it. But when I came up with the idea of adding a verse to it, I decided to keep it secret and surprise Kelly with it when the song was complete. When it came time for the unveiling, Kelly dug the rap and told me she'd save the vocal version for special occasions.

And today just happens to be one of those occasions! 3 Chicks Review Comics Episode 005 [link coming later today!] was the right time to let the vocal version loose... and now I'm thrilled to be able to share this version of the theme with you.

If you like this 3 Chicks theme, check out my original instrumental album Brilliant Shower.

UPDATE: The full-length instrumental version of this song is available as Egg Shaker on my album 7 Star Sky Flash Kick.

Check out my newest song in the 3 Chicks podcast!!!

Tuesday, November 23rd, 2010

My latest work is an unnamed podcast theme for the brand-spanking-new 3 Chicks Review Comics show. Listen to the (very) short version of the 3 Chicks opening theme right now:

I'm still trying to settle on a name for the instrumental version of this song. What I do know is that it'll make it onto my next album, 7 Star Sky Flash Kick. I made a semi-vocal version for Kelly Thompson featuring Juicy shouting "3 Chicks!," as well as a special surprise by myself. BUUUTTT I'm not going to reveal said surprise just yet -- so keep an ear out for when I'm ready to put it out there. It's pretty sweet.

In the meantime, you can listen to 3 Chicks #1 on PodOmatic (most likely a temporary home) and then go leave a comment on the 3 Chicks #1 post on CSBG (after you leave a comment here, that is!!!).